APRIL 1, 2020

COVID-19 Departmental Memo Extension

The Okanogan County Board of Commissioners met in regular session at 123 5th Avenue North, Okanogan, Washington on April 1, 2020, with Vice Chairman, Commissioner Chris Branch; Member, Commissioner Andy Hover and Laleña Johns, Clerk of the Board, present.

Chairman, Commissioner Jim DeTro was not reachable.
A call-in number and participant code was generated.

Several departments joined the meeting remotely.
Commissioners called the meeting to consider the Memorandum approved March 23 in order to consider extending the timeline beyond April 6, 2020. The memo had placed limits on County operations and office staff to essential functions only.

Commissioner Hover read the new Memo for everyone to hear. The prior memo would have expired April 6, 2020 with business as usually thereafter. The new memo would be effective April 6, 2020 and would extend the closure to April 30, 2020 with commissioners’ ability to revisit and revoke at any time.

Motion COVID-19 Memo #2
Commissioner Hover moved to approve the updated Memo and directed it be distributed among the departments. Commissioner Branch discussed resolutions that were put into place regarding the COVID-19 protocols, but those are effective only during the statewide shutdown and do not have an expiration date.

Motion Resolution 48-2020 Emergency Tipping Fees COVID-19
Commissioner Hover moved to approve resolution 48-2020 creating an emergency tipping fee during the COVID-19 pandemic. Motion was seconded, Commissioners discussed that we need to set a reminder to rescind the resolution at the end of the pandemic but instead incorporated language that the special fees end when the state emergency ends. All were in favor, Motion carried.

The board adjourned at 4:42 p.m.